Powered by Google TranslateTranslate


Athens Drive High

Wake County Schools

School Website:  

Grade Span: 09-12 Charter: No
1420 Athens Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606

  Compare to Other Schools 

2024-25 Overall Performance

View Performance by
School or District
View Performance by
Subgroup
×

Overall Performance

Academic Growth

School Academic Growth represents the academic progress of a student compared to the average progress of students across the state in a given grade and/or subject. When the state has compelling evidence that the students in a school are progressing far above the average, the school is exceeding expected growth. When there is evidence that the students in a school are progressing consistent with the average, the school is meeting expected growth.

Growth is displayed in the School Report Card for subgroups when growth is part of the subgroup letter grade. To see additional growth details or growth of subgroups not part of the subgroup letter grade, including Academically/Intellectually Gifted and Homeless subgroups, use this link.

How the School Performance Grade is Determined

  • 80 percent of the grade is based on the school achievement score, which is determined by points earned on accountability measures for that school.
  • 20 percent of the grade is based on academic growth. School academic growth represents the academic progress of a student compared to the average progress of students across the state in a given grade and/or subject. When the state has compelling evidence that the students in a school are progressing far above the average, the school is exceeding expected growth. When there is evidence that the students in a school are progressing consistent with the average, the school is meeting expected growth.

School Performance Grading Scale

Grade RangeLetter Grade
85-100A
70-84B
55-69C
40-54D
Below 40F

Please Note: The accountability measures used to calculate the achievement score and growth score changed slightly in 2017–18 to comply with the Every Student Succeeds Act requirements. Comparisons of School Performance Grades in 2017–18 to earlier school years’ results should be reviewed within that context.

For additional information about accountability indicators used in the calculation of the School Performance Grades see: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/school-accountability-and-reporting/accountability-data-sets-and-reports.


B
2024-25
GRADE

71
PERFORMANCE GRADE SCORE
5010093.400102030405060708090100
Academic Growth
Growth Exceeded Growth Exceeded
Growth
Range
Growth
Status
85.0-100.0
Exceeded
70.0-84.9
Met
50.0-69.9
Not Met


Performance Grade Score History 

71 = B73 = B75 = B75 = B71 = B73 = B73 = B71 = B75 = B80 = B2025202420232022201920182017201620152014
 

Academic Growth History 

93.4 = Exceeded91.5 = Exceeded96.1 = Exceeded97.1 = Exceeded83.3 = Met84.4 = Met87.8 = Exceeded82.7 = Met92.6 = Exceeded100.0 = Exceeded2025202420232022201920182017201620152014
 




  Note - To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “> 95%” or “< 5%” in the charts or tables below. For counts less than 10, no data will be displayed.


2024-25 Student Characteristics & Participation

This section describes some key measures about the students at this school.

Percentage Economically Disadvantaged

×

Economically Disadvantaged

This measure shows the percentage of students in this school who are economically disadvantaged. Students from economically disadvantaged families face additional challenges.

Percentage Economically Disadvantaged0 %5 %10 %15 %20 %25 %30 %35 %40 %45 %50 %Athens Drive HighState of North Carolina
 

2024-25 Career and College Ready

This section describes data around College and Career Ready in Athens Drive High. For more information about College and Career Ready please see: http://www.ncpublicschools.org/cte/.


ACT Performance 

Percent Scoring 17 or above at Athens Drive High
62.6 %68.2 %53.8 %0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
By School/District/StateBy Subgroup 

ACT WorkKeys 

Percent earning a Silver certificate or higher at Athens Drive High
72.1 %72.0 %59.8 %0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
By School/District/StateBy Subgroup 

ACT/ACT WorkKeys Combined Indicator 

Percent of 12th grade students who have met one of the following benchmarks of Career and College Readiness:

  • A Silver or higher certificate on the ACT WorkKeys assessment
  • A composite score of 19 or higher on The ACT assessment
58.0 %65.3 %53.3 %0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
By School/District/StateBy Subgroup 
×

ACT Performance

ACT performance is measured as students scoring at or above the UNC System minimum composite score for admission. The minimum composite score is 17.

×

ACT WorkKeys Performance

All students who are College and Career Ready concentrators (completed a 2-3 course CTE pathway) are administered the ACT WorkKeys assessment. Of those students tested, the percentage of 12th grade CTE concentrators who were awarded at least a Silver Level Career Readiness Certificate is included in ACT WorkKeys performance calculations for the school. For more information about ACT WorkKeys see:

http://www.act.org/content/act/en/products-and-services/workkeys-for-job-seekers.html
×

ACT/ACT WorkKeys Combined Indicator

Percent of 12th grade students who have met one of the following benchmarks of Career and College Readiness:

  • A Silver or higher certificate on the ACT WorkKeys assessment
  • A composite score of 19 or higher on the ACT assessment
×

SAT

The SAT is a national test and SAT scores, in addition to high school transcripts and other information, are used by colleges and universities to make informed decisions about student readiness for college-level work. The chart shows the combined average scores on the SAT evidenced based reading and writing and SAT mathematics subtests.

The School Report Card provides the average SAT score at the school and district level.

Additional information about the SAT can be found on the NC Department of Public Instruction's Office of Accountability and Testing website. Technical information about these data and their sources, are available at Data Sources & Information

×

AP Exam Participation and Performance

High school students have the option to enroll in courses that provide instruction geared towards their advanced learning needs and post-graduate goals. Students who have advanced learning needs may choose to enroll in Advanced Placement (AP) courses which cover more advanced course material and provides the opportunity to earn college credit in high school.

The information provided shows the percentage of students who took an AP exam in this school year (Participation) and the percentage of AP exams with scores of 3 or above (Pass Rate).

Consider talking with your child's teacher(s) or your school's counselor(s) as early as possible for help in planning for your child's post-graduate goals. To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “>95%” or “<5%” in the charts or tables.  Data Sources & Information Guide.

×

Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education

High school students have the option to enroll in courses that provide instruction geared towards their advanced learning needs and post-graduate goals. Students who have advanced learning needs may choose to enroll in the Cambridge International Education Program, which covers more advanced course material and provides the opportunity to earn college credit in high school.

The information provided shows the percentage of students who took an AS/A exam in this school year and the percentage of students who scored a C or better on an AS/A exam . There are 3 authorized Cambridge high schools in North Carolina. Due to the small number of participating schools, comparison data for Cambridge participation rates are not reported at the district and state levels in this report. In addition, no AS/A exam data will be included in the District Indicators report.

Consider talking with your child's teacher(s) or your school's counselor(s) as early as possible for help in planning for your child's post-graduate goals.

To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “>95%” or “<5%” in the charts or tables.

For more technical information about these data and its sources, please see the Data Sources & Information Guide.

×

IB Exam Participation and Performance

High school students have the option to enroll in courses that provide instruction geared towards their advanced learning needs and post-graduate goals. Students who have advanced learning needs may choose to enroll in the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme (DP) which covers more advanced course material and provides the opportunity to earn college credit in high school.

The information provided shows the percentage of students who took an IB exam in this school year and the percentage of IB exam scores of 4 or above (Pass Rate). There are 30 authorized public DP schools in North Carolina. Due to the small number of participating schools, comparison data for IB participation rates are not reported at the district and state levels in this report. In addition, no IB data will be included in the District Indicators report.

Consider talking with your child's teacher(s) or your school's counselor(s) as early as possible for help in planning for your child's post-graduate goals.

To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “>95%” or “<5%” in the charts or tables.

For more technical information about these data and its sources, please see the Data Sources & Information Guide.

×

College Enrollment

College enrollment is a measure of how many of high school graduates enrolled in an Institution of Higher Education (IHE).

The information provided shows the number and percentage of NC public high school graduates from the class one school year prior to the year that you are viewing, who enrolled in an IHE within 16 months of earning a regular high school diploma. For example, for the reporting year of 2015-16, the high school graduates received a diploma in the 2014-15 school year. Users may select to view data by gender and ethnicity.

Beginning with the 2022-23 School Year, all College Enrollment data displayed on School Report Card and reported to USED are based on the National Student Clearinghouse College Enrollment data.



2024-25 Student Performance

Student Performance
by School/District
Student Performance
by Subgroup

×

Alternate Assessment Participation

Students with significant cognitive disabilities are instructed on the NC Extended Content Standards and participate in the alternate assessment. This table reflects the number and percent of students assessed on NCEXTEND1 alternate assessment in this school.

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires states to ensure that the total number of students with disabilities tested in English Language Arts/Reading, Mathematics, and Science using an alternate assessment does not exceed 1.0 percent of the total number of all students assessed in each subject at the state level.

For information on the NC Extended Content Standards, see https://ec.ncpublicschools.gov/disability-resources/significant-cognitive-disabilities/nc-extended-content-standards

This section describes student performance in various test subject areas. Student test performance is reported as one of four achievement levels.  Not Proficient is below grade level. Level 3 is grade level proficient. Levels 4 and 5 indicate students are on track for career-and-college readiness.

×

Measuring Proficiency

This section describes student performance in various test subject areas. Student test performance is reported as one of four achievement levels. Not Proficient is below grade level. Level 3 is grade level proficient. Levels 4 and 5 indicate students are on track for career and college readiness.

  1. NOT PROFICIENT: Inconsistent understanding of grade-level content standards
  2. LEVEL 3: Sufficient understanding of grade-level content standards
  3. LEVEL 4: Thorough understanding of grade-level content standards
  4. LEVEL 5: Comprehensive understanding of grade-level content standards

What does the achievement level number mean? Students scoring at Not Proficient will likely need additional help in the next year to succeed in that subject area. Students scoring at Level 3 are considered proficient for that grade level or course but may still need some targeted help in the next grade or course. Students scoring at Levels 4 and 5 are ready for the next grade or course and are also on a path to be prepared for a career or college by the time they graduate.

Proficiency in Subject Areas

×

English I Performance

TBD

×

Science Performance

End-of-Grade (EOG) Science assessments measure a student's performance on the NC Essential Standards for Science in grades 5 and 8. To align to the State Board of Education adopted content standards (July 6, 2023), new science tests were implemented in the 2024-25 school year.

The NC Essential Standards for Science are available online:
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/science.

To review the Grades 5 and 8 Science EOG Achievement Level Descriptors, see
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.

×

Biology Performance

The Biology EOC assessment measures a student's performance on the NC Essential Standards for Science in Biology. To align to the State Board of Education adopted content standards (July 6, 2023), new science tests were implemented in the 2024-25 school year. The NC Essential Standards for Science are available online:
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/science.

To review the Biology EOC Achievement Level Descriptors, see:
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.

×

English II Performance

The English II EOC assessment measures a student's performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for English Language Arts. The NC Standard Course of Study for English Language Arts is available online:
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/english-language-arts.

To review the English II EOC Achievement Level Descriptors, see
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.

×

Reading Performance

End-of-Grade (EOG) English Language Arts/Reading assessments measure students’ performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for English Language Arts in grades 3–8.

The NC Standard Course of Study for English Language Arts is available online:
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/english-language-arts.

To review the Grades 3–8 English Language Arts/Reading EOG Achievement Level Descriptors, see
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.

×

Math Performance

End-of-Grade (EOG) Mathematics assessments measure a student's performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for Mathematics in grades 3–8. Some students are instructed in the NC Math 1 NCSCS in middle school and thus take the NC Math 1 EOC before grade 9. The Math Performance is a combination of EOG Mathematics scores at grades 3-8 and the NC Math 1 scores at grade 8.

The NC Standard Course of Study for Mathematics is available online:
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/mathematics.

To review the Grades 3–8 Mathematics EOG Achievement Level Descriptors, see

https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.
×

NC Math I Performance

The NC Math 1 EOC assessment measures student's performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for Mathematics in NC Math 1.

The NC Standard Course of Study for Mathematics is available online:
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/mathematics.

To review the Math 1 EOC Achievement Level Descriptors, see
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.

×

NC Math 3 Performance

The NC Math 3 EOC assessment measures student's performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for Mathematics in NC Math 3.

The NC Standard Course of Study for Mathematics is available online:
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/mathematics.

To review the Math 3 EOC Achievement Level Descriptors, see
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.

Biology Performance 


Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Grade Level Proficient (Levels 3-5)Career and College Ready (Levels 4-5)
 

English II Performance 


Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Grade Level Proficient (Levels 3-5)Career and College Ready (Levels 4-5)
 

NC Math 1 Performance 


Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Grade Level Proficient (Levels 3-5)Career and College Ready (Levels 4-5)
 

NC Math 3 Performance 


Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Grade Level Proficient (Levels 3-5)Career and College Ready (Levels 4-5)
 

Other Measures

4 Year Graduation Rate

Percent graduating within four years at Athens Drive High
86.2 %90.7 %87.8 %0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 
×

4 Year Graduation Rate

The four-year cohort graduation rate shows the percent of students who graduate in four years or less after first enrolling in 9th grade.

English Learner Proficiency

×

English Learner Proficiency

Percent of students who met North Carolina’s definition of progress toward English language attainment as demonstrated on NC’s English language proficiency test. North Carolina uses the ACCESS for ELLs assessment to measure English language proficiency. For more information about the ACCESS for ELLs assessment, see: https://wida.wisc.edu/assess/access.

18.6 %39.1 %35.2 %0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 

Passing Math 3

Percent Passing at Athens Drive High
88.0 %91.3 %>95.0 %0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 
×

Passing NC Math 3

The percentage of graduates who took and passed the NC Math 3 course during their high school career is included in accountability calculations for the school

×

Read to Achieve

Research has shown the importance of learning to read by the end of third grade. The Read to Achieve program is a part of the Excellent Public Schools Act which became law in July of 2012 and applies to all schools at the beginning of the 2013-2014 school year. The goal of the State is to ensure that every student reads at or above grade level by the end of third grade. Students who are proficient on the 3rd-grade EOG or qualify for a "good cause exemption" are promoted to Grade 4. Students who are not proficient may be retained in 3rd grade or placed in 4th grade with extra reading instruction and interventions. For more information on the "Read to Achieve" Program please see:

https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/state-tests/grade-3-read-achieve-rta

Read to Achieve Plan.pdf - Google Drive

Student Enrollment in Advanced Courses

×

Advanced Classes

Advanced Course Enrollment is the percentage of all enrollments in Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate, and Cambridge International Education courses at the high school, in academic courses at community colleges and universities, and career and technical courses at the high school and community colleges.

High school students have the option to enroll in courses that provide instruction geared towards their post-graduate goals. Students who plan to attend college may choose to enroll in Advanced Placement (AP), International Baccalaureate (IB), Cambridge International Education (CIE) or community college or university academic courses, which cover more advanced course material.

The following charts show the breakdown of number of students enrolled in various advanced courses. Students may be enrolled in multiple courses. Not all schools offer all types of advanced courses.

The following charts show the breakdown of number of students enrolled in advanced courses.

Athens Drive High 

0100200300400500600700Advanced Placement (AP)Career & College Promise (CCP)Cambridge International (CI)International Baccalaureate (IB)
 ChartTable

Wake County Schools 

02,0004,0006,0008,00010,00012,00014,00016,00018,00020,00022,000Advanced Placement (AP)Career & College Promise (CCP)Cambridge International (CI)International Baccalaureate (IB)
 ChartTable

State of North Carolina 

010,00020,00030,00040,00050,00060,00070,00080,00090,000100,000Advanced Placement (AP)Career & College Promise (CCP)Cambridge International (CI)International Baccalaureate (IB)
 ChartTable

Test Participation 

Percentage of students participating in state mandated standardized testing.
Athens Drive HighState of North Carolina0.0 %10.0 %20.0 %30.0 %40.0 %50.0 %60.0 %70.0 %80.0 %90.0 %100.0 %OtherACT WorkKeysThe ACT
 ChartTable

Students with Disabilities Alternate Test Participation


The percent of tested students is expected to be below 1% at the state level. Most schools have so few students that this information may be masked to protect student privacy.

×

Participation Rates

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires 95% of eligible students be tested on reading and mathematics assessments. Additionally, North Carolina has a requirement of 95% of eligible students be tested on science, ACT WorkKeys and ACT assessments. This information shows the percent of participation targets met in each category.

For more details on missed targets, see https://www.dpi.nc.gov/2024-25-test-participation-report/download?attachment.

For more information on determining the percent of students tested, see https://www.dpi.nc.gov/dpischoolgradetechnicalguidedraft2024-25.


2024-25 Teachers and Qualifications

This section provides information on teachers and their qualifications.

National Board Professional Certified Teachers

18
×

National Board Certification

National Board Certification, offered by the National Board For Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), recognizes the accomplished teaching that is occurring in North Carolina's classrooms. The certification process is based on high and rigorous standards that evaluate teaching practice through performance-based assessments. NBPTS Standards can be found at www.nbpts.org  or www.boardcertifiedteachers.org .

National Board Certified Teachers 

024681012141618Athens Drive High
 
×

Educator Effectiveness

North Carolina is reporting on the effectiveness of teachers across the State, which is measured using the North Carolina Educator Evaluation System. This system engages teachers, principals, and their evaluators in dynamic discussions that recognize educators' individual strengths and focuses on how they can improve their craft. The reports show ratings of the performance of teachers who were evaluated during the school year.

Important Information:

Please keep the following in mind when reviewing the educator effectiveness data.

  • North Carolina’s Educator Evaluation System is a growth instrument. It identifies the knowledge, skills, and dispositions expected of teachers, and measures the level at which they meet the standard as they move from ratings of “not demonstrated” to “distinguished.”
  • As lifelong learners, teachers and school leaders are constantly learning and growing. Since educators (like all employees) always have room to improve, it is uncommon to see a school in which the majority of teachers are distinguished. It is expected that educators in a school or district would be distributed across the rating categories.
  • During the 2010-11 school year, the State only required school districts to complete evaluations for teachers in their first three years in the classroom and tenured teachers renewing their licenses. As a result, new teachers are heavily over-represented in the data, and the data do not fully represent the school or school district. New teachers are more likely to be rated lower on the evaluation standards as they are still learning and developing new skills and knowledge.
  • For the 2011-12 school year and after, principals could elect to complete abbreviated evaluations for career-status teachers. Career-status teachers, however, must receive a full evaluation at least once during the five-year license renewal cycle. An abbreviated evaluation consists of ratings on Standards 1, 4, and Student Growth. This explains why the teacher counts for Standards 2, 3, and 5 are different than the counts for Standards 1, 4, and Student Growth.

Standards

  1. Teachers demonstrate leadership.
  2. Teachers establish a respectful environment for a diverse population of students.
  3. Teachers know the content they teach.
  4. Teachers facilitate learning for their students.
  5. Teachers reflect on their practice

Student Growth

Evaluation Ratings

For Standards 1 – 5, educators can receive one of five ratings on a standard. The individual evaluating the educator selects the ratings.

  • Not demonstrated - indicates that the educator did not demonstrate competence on the standard, or display adequate growth toward the standard.
  • Developing - indicates that the educator is growing in his or her understanding of that standard, but has not yet demonstrated competence.
  • Proficient -indicates that the educator demonstrated basic competence of the standard.
  • Accomplished-indicates that the educator exceeded basic competence on the standard, most of the time.
  • Distinguished - indicates that the educator consistently and significantly exceeds basic expectations on the standard.

For Student Growth, educators can receive one of three ratings on a standard.

  • Does Not Meet Expected Growth - the student growth value for the teacher (or school) is lower than what was expected relative to the state average.
  • Meets Expected Growth - the student growth value for the teacher (or school) is what was expected relative to the state average.
  • Exceeds Expected Growth - the student growth value for the teacher (or school) exceeds what was expected relative to the state average.
×

Teachers Effectiveness

North Carolina is reporting on the effectiveness of teachers across the State, which is measured using the North Carolina Educator Evaluation System. This system engages teachers, principals, and their evaluators in dynamic discussions that recognize educators' individual strengths and focuses on how they can improve their craft. The reports show ratings of the performance of teachers who were evaluated during the school year.

Important Information:

Please keep the following in mind when reviewing the educator effectiveness data.

  • North Carolina’s Educator Evaluation System is a growth instrument. It identifies the knowledge, skills, and dispositions expected of teachers, and measures the level at which they meet the standard as they move from ratings of “not demonstrated” to “distinguished.”
  • As lifelong learners, teachers and school leaders are constantly learning and growing. Since educators (like all employees) always have room to improve, it is uncommon to see a school in which the majority of teachers are distinguished. It is expected that educators in a school or district would be distributed across the rating categories.

Standards for Educator Effectiveness

  1. Teachers demonstrate leadership.
  2. Teachers establish a respectful environment for a diverse population of students..
  3. Teachers know the content they teach.
  4. Teachers facilitate learning for their students.
  5. Teachers reflect on their practice

Educators are assigned effectiveness ratings based on their overall performance on the five observational standards and the overall growth rating (where available). The classification process is the same for educators whether they are on a comprehensive, standard, or abbreviated evaluation process. The three rating categories are listed below with a description of how they are derived

  1. Needs Improvement – the educator demonstrated a less than proficient rating on one of the five observational standards and/or demonstrated growth that did not meet expectation (if an individual growth measure is available for that educator). For educators without a growth measure, only the observational standards are used in the determination of effectiveness.
  2. Effective – the educator demonstrated a rating of at least “Proficient” on all observational standards and the educator met or exceeded expectation on the growth measure (where available). If the educator demonstrated a rating of “Proficient” on one of the five observational standards or only met expected growth, then he or she is classified as “Effective” regardless of greater than proficient ratings on the other standards. For teachers without a growth measure, only the observational standards are used in the determination of effectiveness.
  3. Highly Effective – the educator demonstrated a rating of “Accomplished” or “Distinguished” on all five of the observational standards (or both ratings if on an abbreviated evaluation plan) and exceeded expectations on the growth measure. For teachers without a growth measure, only the observational standards are used in the determination of effectiveness.

For more information about Standards and EVAAS ratings, please see theEducator Effectiveness Model webpage.

×

Total Classroom Teachers

The number of teachers at the school in March 2025. School system and State numbers are based upon the average number of teachers in schools with similar grades.

×

Fully Licensed Teachers

Teachers who have met all education and testing requirements. School system and State numbers are based upon the average number of teachers in schools with similar grades.

×

Teachers with Advanced Degrees

Teachers with license areas above the four year degree level (Bachelor). School system and State numbers are based upon the average number of teachers in schools with similar grades.

×

National Board Certified Teachers

Teachers who have been certified as accomplished teachers by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. For more information: www.dpi.nc.gov/educators/national-board-certification

×

One Year Teacher Turnover Rate

The percent of teachers in March of one school year who were no longer employed as teachers in March of the following school year. School system and State numbers are based upon schools with similar grades. For more information about decisions of teachers to leave the teaching profession please visit www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/districts-schools-support/district-human-capital/surveys-and-reports.

Athens Drive High 

Teacher Effectiveness5.9%70.6%23.5%000.10.20.30.40.50.60.7Needs ImprovementEffectiveHighly Effective
 ChartTable

Teacher Qualifications 

Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina0 %10.00 %20.00 %30.00 %40.00 %50.00 %60.00 %70.00 %80.00 %90.00 %100 %Experienced TeachersBeginning Teachers
 

Standard License/Emergency 

Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina0 %10.00 %20.00 %30.00 %40.00 %50.00 %60.00 %70.00 %80.00 %90.00 %100 %Standard LicenseEmergency Licenses
 

2024-25 School Environment

View Environment
by School/District
View Environment
by Subgroup

This section provides information on the school environment and facilities

Total Students

2,075

Student Enrollment 

02004006008001,0001,2001,4001,6001,8002,0002,200Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 
×

Student Enrollment

This chart shows the final average daily membership. Schools are compared to 'like' schools across the district and state.

×

Average Class Size

Class size is a calculation by grade of the number of students in classes divided by the number of lead teachers assigned to the classes for that grade. Lead teachers are only counted once in the calculation and have equal responsibility for all students in the class and do not include pull out teachers, teachers who work with select students, or teacher assistants.

If the students across sections of a course are all scheduled into a single Section or with the same Expression in PowerSchool, the class size maybe appear inflated, as it will appear as if they are all in the same class with a single teacher.

The Average Class Size report provides the average number of students enrolled in “typical” K-8 classrooms.

Schools are compared to 'like' schools across the district and state.

This data is based on the Legislated Class Size Report (LCS).

×

Average Course Size

The Average Course Size report provides the average number of students enrolled per section enrolled in the courses finishing with a North Carolina End-of-Course (EOC) test (English II, NC Math 1, NC Math 3, Biology).

This data is based on the Legislated Class Size Report (LCS). Course size data is based on the number of students taking the EOC tests.

Course size is important because it may influence the one-on-one attention that teachers provide to students and the level of classroom discipline. Keep in mind that class size averages my change slightly as students make changes to their schedules or as students move during the school year. Consider asking your school principal about targeted class sizes in your district.

×

Number of Students Enrolled in Preschool

This information represents the number of children who were enrolled in the preschool program at this elementary school. In some cases, not every student served in an elementary school- based preschool program remains enrolled in that elementary school for their kindergarten year.

×

Suspension and Expulsion Rates (per 1000 students)

This chart describes some of student behavior and discipline issues:

  • Short-term Suspensions - Number of short-term suspensions per 1000 students
  • Long-Term Suspensions - Number of long-term suspensions per 1000 students
  • Expulsions - Number of expulsions per 1000 students
  • In-school Suspensions – Number of In-school suspensions per 1000 students

Rates per 1000 are calculated by dividing the total number of crimes or suspensions/expulsions by student membership at the State, District, or School level, and then multiplying by 1000. This statistic allows for general comparison of one entity to another by controlling for differences in student population size.

Since this is a rate and not a percentage, the >95 and <5 masking rules do not apply. Masking rules apply when a subgroup or student membership is less than 10. There were instances where the insufficient data rules were applied.

Additional data can be found here https://www.dpi.nc.gov/data-reports/discipline-alp-and-dropout-data.

×

Rates of Criminal Acts, Bullying, Law Enforcement Referrals, and Arrests (per 1000 Students)

Rates of Criminal Acts, Bullying, Law Enforcement Referrals, and Arrests (per 1000 Students)

  • Criminal Acts - Number of criminal acts per 1000 students
  • Acts of Bullying and Harassment – Number of acts of bullying or harassment per 1000 students
  • Reports to Law Enforcement – Numbers of reports to law enforcement per 1000 students
  • School Arrests – Numbers of school-related arrests per 1000 students

Rates per 1000 are calculated by dividing the total number of crimes or suspensions/expulsions by student membership at the State, District, or School level, and then multiplying by 1000. This statistic allows for general comparison of one entity to another by controlling for differences in student population size.

Since this is a rate and not a percentage, the >95 and <5 masking rules do not apply. Masking rules apply when a subgroup or student membership is less than 10. There were instances where the insufficient data rules were applied.

Additional data can be found here https://www.dpi.nc.gov/data-reports/discipline-alp-and-dropout-data.

Chronic Absenteeism 

Chronic Absenteeism0.00 %10.00 %20.00 %30.00 %40.00 %50.00 %60.00 %70.00 %80.00 %90.00 %100.00 %Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 ChartTable
×

Chronic Absenteeism

Chronic Absenteeism represents the percentage of students in a school or district who are chronically absent from school. A student is defined as chronically absent when they are enrolled in a North Carolina public school for at least 10 school days at any time during the school year, and whose total number of absences is equal to or greater than 10 percent of the total number of days that the student has been enrolled at any school during a given school year.

Student chronic absence is a risk factor for adverse outcomes. Student chronic absence differs from both truancy and average daily attendance. Student daily attendance is the percentage of students present in a school each day. Student truancy measures unexcused absences only. Student chronic absence refers to missing so much school, for any type of absence – excused, unexcused, disciplinary – that a student is at risk of falling behind.

This definition applies to all students enrolled in a school, including those who have not reached the compulsory attendance age, as well as those who have reached or exceeded the compulsory attendance age.

In some schools, the number of students who are counted as chronically absent may be greater than the total number of students, particularly in the counts for sub-groups. This is because a student may be counted as chronically absent in a school but not counted in the school's annual membership.

Students Per Device 

Students Per Device00.10.20.30.40.50.60.70.8Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 ChartTable
×

Students Per Device

Students per device: The number of students per device in the school. On this measure, the lower the number the better. There are more computers available to students when this number is low.

Book Titles Per Student 

Book Titles Per Student0246810121416Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 ChartTable
×

Book Titles Per Student

A school library’s number of book titles per student indicates the availability of different book titles for students to select. A higher number of book titles per student indicates a wider variety of books to choose from.

Wireless Access Points per Classroom 

WAP per Classroom00.20.40.60.811.21.4Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 ChartTable
×

Wireless Access Points per Classroom

This report provides the number of wireless access points for each classroom. Typically, when there are more access points available, there is better wireless internet coverage in the school.

Devices Issued To Students

×

One to One Access

This report indicates if a school provides a school owned device to each student for an entire grade within the school. Some schools provide the device only during school hours while other schools allow students to take them home.

Athens Drive High provides a school owned device for each student in each of the following grades.

9th10th11th12th

Arts Education

×

Number Of Classes

The State Median shown compares districts and individual schools to other NC public schools of the same level, ie Elementary Schools to Elementary Schools.

The following arts education disciplines are offered at Athens Drive High. The number of courses offered, and the percentage of school population enrolled in that discipline, are displayed. To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “>95%” or “<5%” in the charts or tables. For more information about Arts Education Courses offered in NC, please visit the NC Arts Ed Data Project.

Participation Percentage 

TheaterDanceMusicVisual Art0.0 %2.0 %4.0 %6.0 %8.0 %10.0 %12.0 %14.0 %16.0 %18.0 %20.0 %Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina
 

Number Of Classes 

TheaterDanceMusicVisual Art024681012141618202224Athens Drive HighWake County SchoolsState of North Carolina Median
 

Strategic Planning 2024-25

This section provides information on Athens Drive High's strategic planning, goals and progress.

    ×

    Title 1 Status

    This school receives Title I funding from the Federal Government which is designated to assist this school with providing all children a significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education, and to close achievement gaps.

Progress Goals

×

Long-Term Goals

Targets Toward Meeting Long-term Goals

Each school in North Carolina has a 12-year Long Term Goal for English language arts/reading, Mathematics, English Learners’ Progress and Cohort Graduation Rate, as applicable.

Every year, North Carolina evaluates the performance of each school to determine if the school has met yearly progress showing the school is on-track to meet the 12-year long-term goals.

For more detailed information about these goals, see https://accrpt.tops.ncsu.edu/essa_ltg/ltg.html.

This school has progress goals for 4 Year Graduation Rate, EL Progress, Math Grade 11, and Reading Grade 10  in the following student groups - ALL, Asian, Black, Economically Disadvantaged, English Learners, Hispanic, Students with Disabilities, and White.

Click the following link to see the progress of student groups at this school (note you will need to select this school again).