Translate| Schools | Students |
|---|---|
| 198 | 160,489 |
| Agency | Elementary | Middle | High | K-8 | 6-12 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wake County Schools | 585 | 892 | 1,617 | 326 | 203 |
| State of North Carolina | 452 | 614 | 825 | 474 | 271 |
School Academic Growth represents the academic progress of a student compared to the average progress of students across the state in a given grade and/or subject. When the state has compelling evidence that the students in a school are progressing far above the average, the school is exceeding expected growth. When there is evidence that the students in a school are progressing consistent with the average, the school is meeting expected growth.
Growth is displayed in the School Report Card for subgroups when growth is part of the subgroup letter grade. To see additional growth details or growth of subgroups not part of the subgroup letter grade, including Academically/Intellectually Gifted and Homeless subgroups, use this link.
| Grade Range | Letter Grade |
|---|---|
| 85-100 | A |
| 70-84 | B |
| 55-69 | C |
| 40-54 | D |
| Below 40 | F |
Please Note: The accountability measures used to calculate the achievement score and growth score changed slightly in 2017–18 to comply with the Every Student Succeeds Act requirements. Comparisons of School Performance Grades in 2017–18 to earlier school years’ results should be reviewed within that context.
For additional information about accountability indicators used in the calculation of the School Performance Grades see: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/school-accountability-and-reporting/accountability-data-sets-and-reports#2017%E2%80%9318-business-rules-for-calculating-results.
Total School Count | Count Low Performing |
|---|---|
| 191 | 30 |
As required by North Carolina statute, a Low-performing school has received a School Performance Grade of 'D' or 'F' and a growth status of 'Met' or 'Not Met'. For more information regarding low-performing schools, see:
Percent of students who met North Carolina’s definition of progress toward English language attainment as demonstrated on NC’s English language proficiency test. North Carolina uses the ACCESS for ELLs assessment to measure English language proficiency. For more information about the ACCESS for ELLs assessment, see: https://wida.wisc.edu/assess/access.
The four-year cohort graduation rate shows the percent of students who graduate in four years or less after first enrolling in 9th grade.
Student Enrollment in Advanced Classes Advanced Course Enrollment is the percentage of all enrollments in Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate, and Cambridge International Education courses at the high school, in academic courses at community colleges and universities, and career and technical courses at the high school and community colleges.
High school students have the option to enroll in courses that provide instruction geared towards their post-graduate goals. Students who plan to attend college may choose to enroll in Advanced Placement (AP), International Baccalaureate (IB), Cambridge International Education (CIE) or community college or university academic courses, which cover more advanced course material.
The following charts show the breakdown of number of students enrolled in various advanced courses. Students may be enrolled in multiple courses. Not all schools offer all types of advanced courses.
The following charts show the breakdown of number of students enrolled in advanced courses.
Note - To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “> 95%” or “< 5%” in the charts or tables below. For counts less than 10, no data will be displayed.
This section describes data around College and Career Ready in Wake County Schools. For more information about College and Career Ready please see: http://www.ncpublicschools.org/cte/.
Percent of 12th grade students who have met one of the following benchmarks of Career and College Readiness:
ACT performance is measured as students scoring at or above the UNC System minimum composite score for admission. The minimum composite score is 17.
All students who are College and Career Ready concentrators (completed a 2-3 course CTE pathway) are administered the ACT WorkKeys assessment. Of those students tested, the percentage of 12th grade CTE concentrators who were awarded at least a Silver Level Career Readiness Certificate is included in ACT WorkKeys performance calculations for the school. For more information about ACT WorkKeys see:
http://www.act.org/content/act/en/products-and-services/workkeys-for-job-seekers.htmlPercent of 12th grade students who have met one of the following benchmarks of Career and College Readiness:
The SAT is a national test and SAT scores, in addition to high school transcripts and other information, are used by colleges and universities to make informed decisions about student readiness for college-level work. The chart shows the combined average scores on the SAT evidenced based reading and writing and SAT mathematics subtests.
The School Report Card provides the average SAT score at the school and district level.
Additional information about the SAT can be found on the NC Department of Public Instruction's Office of Accountability and Testing website. Technical information about these data and their sources, are available at Data Sources & Information
High school students have the option to enroll in courses that provide instruction geared towards their advanced learning needs and post-graduate goals. Students who have advanced learning needs may choose to enroll in Advanced Placement (AP) courses which cover more advanced course material and provides the opportunity to earn college credit in high school.
The information provided shows the percentage of students who took an AP exam in this school year (Participation) and the percentage of AP exams with scores of 3 or above (Pass Rate).
Consider talking with your child's teacher(s) or your school's counselor(s) as early as possible for help in planning for your child's post-graduate goals. To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “>95%” or “<5%” in the charts or tables. Data Sources & Information Guide.
High school students have the option to enroll in courses that provide instruction geared towards their advanced learning needs and post-graduate goals. Students who have advanced learning needs may choose to enroll in the Cambridge International Education Program, which covers more advanced course material and provides the opportunity to earn college credit in high school.
The information provided shows the percentage of students who took an AS/A exam in this school year and the percentage of students who scored a C or better on an AS/A exam . There are 3 authorized Cambridge high schools in North Carolina. Due to the small number of participating schools, comparison data for Cambridge participation rates are not reported at the district and state levels in this report. In addition, no AS/A exam data will be included in the District Indicators report.
Consider talking with your child's teacher(s) or your school's counselor(s) as early as possible for help in planning for your child's post-graduate goals.
To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “>95%” or “<5%” in the charts or tables.
For more technical information about these data and its sources, please see the Data Sources & Information Guide.
High school students have the option to enroll in courses that provide instruction geared towards their advanced learning needs and post-graduate goals. Students who have advanced learning needs may choose to enroll in the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme (DP) which covers more advanced course material and provides the opportunity to earn college credit in high school.
The information provided shows the percentage of students who took an IB exam in this school year and the percentage of IB exam scores of 4 or above (Pass Rate). There are 30 authorized public DP schools in North Carolina. Due to the small number of participating schools, comparison data for IB participation rates are not reported at the district and state levels in this report. In addition, no IB data will be included in the District Indicators report.
Consider talking with your child's teacher(s) or your school's counselor(s) as early as possible for help in planning for your child's post-graduate goals.
To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as “>95%” or “<5%” in the charts or tables.
For more technical information about these data and its sources, please see the Data Sources & Information Guide.
College enrollment is a measure of how many of high school graduates enrolled in an Institution of Higher Education (IHE).
The information provided shows the number and percentage of NC public high school graduates from the class one school year prior to the year that you are viewing, who enrolled in an IHE within 16 months of earning a regular high school diploma. For example, for the reporting year of 2015-16, the high school graduates received a diploma in the 2014-15 school year. Users may select to view data by gender and ethnicity.
Beginning with the 2022-23 School Year, all College Enrollment data displayed on School Report Card and reported to USED are based on the National Student Clearinghouse College Enrollment data.
This section describes student performance in various test subject areas. Student test performance is reported as one of four achievement levels. Not Proficient is below grade level. Level 3 is grade level proficient. Levels 4 and 5 indicate students are on track for career-and-college readiness.
This section describes student performance in various test subject areas. Student test performance is reported as one of four achievement levels. Not Proficient is below grade level. Level 3 is grade level proficient. Levels 4 and 5 indicate students are on track for career and college readiness.
What does the achievement level number mean? Students scoring at Not Proficient will likely need additional help in the next year to succeed in that subject area. Students scoring at Level 3 are considered proficient for that grade level or course but may still need some targeted help in the next grade or course. Students scoring at Levels 4 and 5 are ready for the next grade or course and are also on a path to be prepared for a career or college by the time they graduate.
The percent of tested students is expected to be below 1% at the state level. Most schools have so few students that this information may be masked to protect student privacy.
Students with significant cognitive disabilities are instructed on the NC Extended Content Standards and participate in the alternate assessment. This table reflects the number and percent of students assessed on NCEXTEND1 alternate assessment.
The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires states to ensure that the total number of students with disabilities tested in English Language Arts/Reading, Mathematics, and Science using an alternate assessment does not exceed 1.0 percent of the total number of all students assessed in each subject at the state level.
For information on the NC Extended Content Standards, see https://ec.ncpublicschools.gov/disability-resources/significant-cognitive-disabilities/nc-extended-content-standards
End-of-Grade (EOG) Science assessments measure a student's performance on the NC Essential Standards for Science in grades 5 and 8. To align to the State Board of Education adopted content standards (July 6, 2023), new science tests were implemented in the 2024-25 school year.
The NC Essential Standards for Science are available online: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/science.
To review the Grades 5 and 8 Science EOG Achievement Level Descriptors, see https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.
The Biology EOC assessment measures a student's performance on the NC Essential Standards for Science in Biology. To align to the State Board of Education adopted content standards (July 6, 2023), new science tests were implemented in the 2024-25 school year. The NC Essential Standards for Science are available online: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/science.
To review the Biology EOC Achievement Level Descriptors, see: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.
The English II EOC assessment measures a student's performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for English Language Arts. The NC Standard Course of Study for English Language Arts is available online: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/english-language-arts.
To review the English II EOC Achievement Level Descriptors, see https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.
End-of-Grade (EOG) English Language Arts/Reading assessments measure students’ performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for English Language Arts in grades 3–8.
The NC Standard Course of Study for English Language Arts is available online: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/english-language-arts.
To review the Grades 3–8 English Language Arts/Reading EOG Achievement Level Descriptors, see https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.
End-of-Grade (EOG) Mathematics assessments measure a student's performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for Mathematics in grades 3–8. Some students are instructed in the NC Math 1 NCSCS in middle school and thus take the NC Math 1 EOC before grade 9. The Math Performance is a combination of EOG Mathematics scores at grades 3-8 and the NC Math 1 scores at grade 8.
The NC Standard Course of Study for Mathematics is available online: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/mathematics.
To review the Grades 3–8 Mathematics EOG Achievement Level Descriptors, see https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.
The NC Math 1 EOC assessment measures student's performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for Mathematics in NC Math 1.
The NC Standard Course of Study for Mathematics is available online: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/mathematics.
To review the Math 1 EOC Achievement Level Descriptors, see https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.
The NC Math 3 EOC assessment measures student's performance on the NC Standard Course of Study (NCSCS) for Mathematics in NC Math 3.
The NC Standard Course of Study for Mathematics is available online: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/teach-nc/curriculum-instruction/standard-course-study/mathematics.
To review the Math 3 EOC Achievement Level Descriptors, see https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/testing-and-school-accountability/technical-information-state-tests#AchievementLevelDescriptors-1463.
This section provides information on teachers, principals and their qualifications.
North Carolina is reporting on the effectiveness of teachers across the State, which is measured using the North Carolina Educator Evaluation System. This system engages teachers, principals, and their evaluators in dynamic discussions that recognize educators' individual strengths and focuses on how they can improve their craft. The reports show ratings of the performance of teachers who were evaluated during the school year.
Please keep the following in mind when reviewing the educator effectiveness data.
Standards for Educator Effectiveness
Educators are assigned effectiveness ratings based on their overall performance on the five observational standards and the overall growth rating (where available). The classification process is the same for educators whether they are on a comprehensive, standard, or abbreviated evaluation process. The three rating categories are listed below with a description of how they are derived
For more information about Standards and EVAAS ratings, please see theEducator Effectiveness Model webpage.
North Carolina is reporting on the qualifications of teachers and principals across the State. Below are definitions of the categories used in the charts and tables.
Percent of all teachers with similar grade levels who have met all education and testing requirements.
Percent of all teachers in similar grade levels with license areas above the four year degree level (Bachelor).
| Wake County Schools: | 1,429 |
| State of North Carolina: | 7,769 |
The number of National Certified teachers in the school system. National Board Certification, offered by the National Board For Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), is a way to recognize the accomplished teaching that is occurring in North Carolina's classrooms. For more information: www.dpi.nc.gov/educators/national-board-certification.
The percent of teachers in March 2024 teachers in similar grade levels in the school system who were not employed as a teacher in March 2025.
Average number of teachers in similar grade levels in the school system by years of experience as a teacher.
This section provides information on the school environment and facilities.
| District | North Carolina |
|---|---|
| 0.7 students per device | 0.8 students per device |
The State Median shown compares districts and individual schools to other NC public schools of the same level, ie Elementary Schools to Elementary Schools.
The following arts education disciplines are offered at Wake County Schools. The percentage of district population enrolled in that discipline across all grade levels are displayed. To protect student privacy, some data values for small groups will be suppressed as ">95%" or "<5%" in the charts or tables. For more information about the Arts Education courses and participation in each school, please visit the individual school page.
Chronic Absenteeism represents the percentage of students in a school or district who are chronically absent from school. A student is defined as chronically absent when they are enrolled in a North Carolina public school for at least 10 school days at any time during the school year, and whose total number of absences is equal to or greater than 10 percent of the total number of days that the student has been enrolled at any school during a given school year.
Student chronic absence is a risk factor for adverse outcomes. Student chronic absence differs from both truancy and average daily attendance. Student daily attendance is the percentage of students present in a school each day. Student truancy measures unexcused absences only. Student chronic absence refers to missing so much school, for any type of absence – excused, unexcused, disciplinary – that a student is at risk of falling behind.
This definition applies to all students enrolled in a school, including those who have not reached the compulsory attendance age, as well as those who have reached or exceeded the compulsory attendance age.
This chart describes some of student behavior and discipline issues:
Rates per 1000 are calculated by dividing the total number of crimes or suspensions/expulsions by student membership at the State, District, or School level, and then multiplying by 1000. This statistic allows for general comparison of one entity to another by controlling for differences in student population size.
Since this is a rate and not a percentage, the >95 and <5 masking rules do not apply. Masking rules apply when a subgroup or student membership is less than 10. There were instances where the insufficient data rules were applied.
Additional data can be found here https://www.dpi.nc.gov/data-reports/discipline-alp-and-dropout-data.
Rates of Criminal Acts, Bullying, Law Enforcement Referrals, and Arrests (per 1000 Students)
Rates per 1000 are calculated by dividing the total number of crimes or suspensions/expulsions by student membership at the State, District, or School level, and then multiplying by 1000. This statistic allows for general comparison of one entity to another by controlling for differences in student population size.
Since this is a rate and not a percentage, the >95 and <5 masking rules do not apply. Masking rules apply when a subgroup or student membership is less than 10. There were instances where the insufficient data rules were applied.
Additional data can be found here https://www.dpi.nc.gov/data-reports/discipline-alp-and-dropout-data.
Wake County Schools